MOSAiCH en bref

MOSAiCH (Mesures et Observation Sociologique des Attitudes en Suisse)

L’enquête MOSAiCH porte sur différents thèmes sociaux et vise à connaître les attitudes et les comportements de la population suisse vis-à-vis des institutions politiques et sociales. Elle s’intéresse également à des sujets d’actualité, comme par exemple l’environnement, l’identité nationale, la famille ou le travail.

MOSAiCH se base sur un échantillon représentatif des personnes résidant en Suisse âgées de 18 ans et plus. Jusqu’en 2017, MOSAiCH a été menée tous les deux ans sous la forme d’une enquête administrée en face-à-face. À partir de l’édition 2018, MOSAiCH change de formule et est réalisée une fois par an sous la forme d’une enquête auto-administrée (en ligne/papier).

Sur le plan thématique, le projet est organisé afin de permettre à la fois des analyses comparatives du point de vue international et des analyses sur l’évolution dans le temps. Le questionnaire de MOSAiCH est centré sur le module de l’International Social Survey Programme (ISSP). Cette partie internationale est complétée par quelques questions sociodémographiques, ainsi qu’un module composé de questions spécifiquement suisses. Les questions suisses, déterminées par voie d’un appel public aux chercheurs, visent à approfondir le thème du module ISSP ou à mesurer d’autres dimensions d’intérêt du point de vue du contexte suisse.

L’étude MOSAiCH ayant été créée en 2005, les différentes enquêtes et modules intégrés ont toutefois été réalisées dans des projets de recherche indépendants. Ces données sont disponibles et offrent la possibilité de suivre des évolutions dans les attitudes depuis plus de 20 ans (voir Tableau synoptique de l’ensemble des enquêtes autour du projet MOSAiCH).

Objectifs principaux

  • MOSAiCH a pour but de produire un grand nombre de données qui permet d’observer l’évolution des attitudes et des comportements au cours du temps et de comprendre leur diversité dans le monde.
  • L’appel à contributions est répété chaque année. Il vise à fournir aux chercheuses et chercheurs intéressés un outil puissant leur permettant de constituer des données représentatives pouvant alimenter leur propre projet de recherche. Ces données sont également mises en libre accès au public scientifique large.
Organisation et financement

MOSAiCH est financée par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique FNS et organisée et dirigée par FORS, Centre de compétences suisse en sciences sociales.

Sous la responsabilité scientifique de Michèle Ernst Staehli, l’équipe MOSAiCH de FORS planifie et réalise toutes les phases du processus d’enquête :

  • l’élaboration de la partie suisse du questionnaire
  • la traduction du module ISSP dans trois langues officielles (allemand, français, italien)
  • le développement de méthodes spécifiques
  • le nettoyage, la documentation et la mise à disposition des données.

     

Coordination de l’International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)

L’ISSP est un programme international qui mène en coopération des enquêtes annuelles sur différents sujets de société. Ce projet de recherche est né de l’intérêt de disposer de données sur les attitudes sociales et politiques permettant des comparaisons au niveau international. Fondée en 1984 par des scientifiques anglais, américains, allemands et australiens, l’ISSP compte désormais plus de 40 pays membres. Aujourd’hui, plus d’un million de personnes dans le monde ont déjà participé aux enquêtes ISSP.

L’ISSP est principalement composé d’un secrétariat tournant et de groupes de travail. Un des groupes est chargé de la réalisation du module de questions annuel. Un autre groupe s’occupe des questions méthodologiques. Il détermine les spécifications techniques de l’enquête. Les décisions sont prises lors d’assemblées générales qui élisent également les membres des groupes de travail et décident question par question du contenu du questionnaire.

Ces dernières années, la Suisse a activement participé dans différents groupes de travail. Actuellement, elle est engagée en tant que Convenor dans le comité méthodologique et fait partie de plusieurs groupes d’experts (Non-Response, Mixed-Mode, Translation, Weighting, Demographics) ainsi que du Drafting Group, qui a élaboré le questionnaire « Réseaux et ressources sociales » (Social Networks and Social Resources) pour l’ISSP 2017.

Méthodologie

L’enquête MOSAiCH porte sur l’ensemble de la population, à partir de l’âge de 18 ans. Dans le but d’offrir une vue représentative sur la situation en Suisse, l’enquête respecte les principes de l’échantillonnage aléatoire.  L’échantillon net doit contenir au minimum 1000 interviews (follow-up survey).

En tant qu’enquête reconnue d’importance nationale et financée par le Fonds national de la recherche scientifique, MOSAiCH peut obtenir depuis 2010 un échantillon individuel tiré aléatoirement du cadre de sondage pour les enquêtes auprès de la population (SRPH) de l’Office fédéral de la statistique. L’utilisation du registre d’échantillonage par l’ESS est réglée par l’ordonnance concernant l’exécution des relevés statistiques fédéraux aux art. 13a à 13g (RS 431.012.1).

Construction de l’échantillon :
Jusqu’en 2009: Plan d’échantillonnage aléatoire à trois degrés:

  • Échantillon de numéros postaux tirés dans chacune des régions de Suisse
  • Sélection d’un nombre déterminé de ménages / adresses dans chacun des numéros postaux tirés.
  • Désignation d’une personne au sein de chaque ménage /adresse.

Depuis 2010 : Plan d’échantillonnage aléatoire à un seul degré

  • En tant qu’enquête reconnue d’importance nationale, financée par le Fonds national de la recherche scientifique, MOSAiCH peut obtenir un échantillon individuel tiré aléatoirement du registre de l’Office fédéral de la statistique, en application de l’art. 13c, al. 2, lett. d, de l’ordonnance du 30 juin 1993 concernant l’exécution des relevés statistiques fédéraux

Collecte de données :

  • A partir de l’année 2018, la collecte des données est réalisée une fois par an par le biais de questionnaires auto-administrés (en ligne/papier).
  • L’enquête est composée d’un questionnaire principal suivi d’une ou deux enquêtes complémentaires plus courtes (study2 et study3).
  • L’échantillon net des enquêtes complémentaire doit comprendre au moins 1000 répondants.

Afin d’améliorer la qualité des données, la méthodologie est constamment adaptée et perfectionnée : la traduction des questionnaires est effectuée selon des normes rigoureuses (procédure TRAPD) ; une attention importante est portée à la qualité de l’échantillonnage aléatoire ; de nombreuses mesures sont implémentées pour améliorer le taux de réponse.

Sujets abordés / éditions

A partir de 2018, le questionnaire MOSAiCH comprend principalement deux parties: l’enquête principale, avec le module actuel de l’International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) ainsi que des questions sociodémographiques, est suivie d’une ou plusieurs enquêtes complémentaires plus courtes comportant des questions spécifiques à la Suisse.

Enquête principale :

Le module ISSP:
Chaque année, la coordination internationale de l’ISSP propose une batterie de questions sur un sujet spécifique. Un objectif important de l’ISSP étant de rendre les résultats comparables au niveau international, le questionnaire est conçu afin de pouvoir être posé dans des pays et des cultures très différentes. Les thèmes sont répétés périodiquement, avec une grande partie des questions qui restent stables d’une édition à l’autre. Cela permet d’observer et de documenter les changements dans le temps (Tableau synoptique de l’ensemble des enquêtes autour du projet MOSAiCH).

Dans chaque édition, des informations générales démographiques sur la personne telles que l’âge, le sexe, l’état civil ou l’emploi sont collectées lors de l’enquête principale. Cette section sera adaptée au sujet spécifique du module ISSP et variera en fonction de l’enquête.

Enquête complémentaire (follow-up survey) :

La partie suisse:
A chaque édition de MOSAiCH, le module de l’ISSP est complétés par des questions spécifiques à la Suisse. Ces questions visent à approfondir le thème actuel du module ISSP en mettant l’accent sur le contexte suisse, ou alors à mesurer d’autres dimensions qui sont d’actualité et d’intérêt pour les sciences sociales.

FORS offre aux chercheuses et chercheurs en sciences sociales la possibilité de compléter cette partie suisse de l’enquête MOSAiCH avec leurs propres questions (depuis 2012, nous lançons un appel à contributions à travers la page web de FORS, voir aussi : MOSAiCH Call ). Les propositions soumises sont examinées par la Commission MOSAiCH puis compilées et adaptées par l’équipe des enquêtes internationales de FORS.

Le document MOSAiCH collaborations présente les différentes collaborations externes réalisées dans ce cadre jusqu’à présent.

Suisse-Europe : Eurobaromètre (EB) et Eurobaromètre en Suisse (EBCH)
De 1999 à 2003, des modules sélectionnés de l’Eurobaromètre de la Commission Européenne ont été réalisés en Suisse (au début en tant qu’enquête indépendante, à partir de l’année 2000 associé à l’ISSP). Les modules de cette enquête européenne ont été complétés par des questions sur les attitudes de la population vis-à-vis des institutions suisses et européennes. Ces questions additionnelles sont majoritairement regroupées dans les modules EBCH – Politique Suisse et EBCH – Relations UE-CH.

Alors que l’Eurobaromètre a été abandonné en 2003 en Suisse, une grande partie des questions EBCH a été intégrée dans le projet MOSAiCH (2005-2017). Un aperçu de l’implémentation de ces questions, ainsi que d’autres questions sociodémographiques et d’attitude d’intérêt général, répétées dans les différents projets d’enquête est présenté dans le document Vue d’ensemble des questions de l’Eurobaromètre en Suisse. À partir de 2018, les questions EUBCH ne seront intégrées dans l’enquête MOSAiCH que de manière sélective et en fonction du sujet du module ISSP.

Editions

 ISSPEB/EBCHModule Suisse
2020 - MOSAiCHEnvironnement IV (2020)Questions supplémentaires ISSP 2020 et du MOSAiCH call
2019 - MOSAiCHInégalités sociales V (2019)Questions supplémentaires ISSP 2019 et du MOSAiCH call
2018 - MOSAiCHReligion IV (2018)Questions supplémentaires ISSP 2018 et du MOSAiCH call
2017 - MOSAiCHRôle du gouvernement V (2016)

Réseaux et ressources sociales (2017)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Questions supplémentaires ISSP 2016 et ISSP 2017

MOSAiCH 2017 Drop-off
2015 - MOSAiCHCitoyenneté II (2014)

Sens du Travail IV (2015)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Questions supplémentaires ISSP 2014 et ISSP 2015

MOSAiCH 2015 Drop-off
2013 - MOSAiCHFamille et changement des rôles homme-femme IV (2012)

Identité nationale III (2013)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Questions supplémentaires ISSP 2012 et ISSP 2013

Réseau des relations familiales (Drop off)
2011 - MOSAiCHEnvironnement III (2010)

Santé (2011)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Exposition aux bruits

Emplois du temps
2009 - MOSAiCHReligion III (2008)

Inégalités sociales IV (2009)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Religion

Position professionnelle

Climat d’enquête
2007 - MOSAiCHRôle du gouvernement IV (2006)

Loisirs et sport (2007)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Prestige des professions

Economie et satisfaction

Médias
2005 - MOSAiCHCitoyenneté (2004)

Sens du travail III (2005)
EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
Réseaux sociaux
2003 - Eurobaromètre/ ISSPIdentité nationale II (2003)Famille et couple (EB 59.0)

EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
2002 - Eurobaromètre/ ISSPFamille et changement des rôles homme-femme III (2002)Biotechnologie et Génie génétique (EB 58.0)

EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
2001 - Eurobaromètre/ ISSPRelations sociales (2001)Science et technique (EB 55.2)

EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
2000 - Eurobaromètre/ ISSPEnvironnement II (2000)Attitude envers des personnes d’autres cultures (EB 53.0)

Nouvelles techniques de communication (EB 53.0)

Organismes génétiquement modifiés (EB 53.0)

EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
1999 - Eurobaromètre
Environnement (EB 51)

EBCH: Politique Suisse

EBCH: Relations UE-CH
1999 - FNRSInégalités sociales III (1999)Inégalités sociales
1998 - FNRSReligion II (1998)Religion et lien social: construction et régulation des mobilisations religieuses
1997 - FNRSRôle du Gouvernement III (1996)

Sens du travail II (1997)
Conditions et sens du travail

Participation au marché du travail
1994 - FNRSEnvironnement I (1993)Prise de conscience et comportement vis-à-vis de l’environnement
1987 - FNRSInégalités sociales (1987)Perception des inégalités sociales
Données et publications

Une fois collectées, les données sont contrôlées et formatées par FORS et ensuite mises à disposition sur le serveur FORS Nesstar. La documentation des variables est fournie en allemand et en français. Les données anonymisées sont mises à la libre disposition des chercheuses et chercheurs, ainsi que toutes personnes intéressées ayant accepté les conditions d’utilisation.

Le serveur FORS Nesstar permet d’avoir un premier aperçu du détail des questions et des fréquences de réponse. Il s’agit néanmoins d’un jeu de données limité. Le jeu de données complet est accessible via notre catalogue de données FORSbase.

Les données internationales de l’ISSP sont aussi hébergées sur le Serveur du Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences (GESIS). Les données de tous les autres pays participants y peuvent également être trouvées.

Il est important d’informer l’équipe des enquêtes internationales de toute publication qui fait référence à ces données. Les données bibliographiques que nous recevons sont transmises à la liste des publications internationales de l’ISSP (comment citer MOSAiCH: Citations)

Liens utiles :

MOSAiCH call

Depuis 2012, FORS offre aux chercheuses et chercheurs en sciences sociales la possibilité de compléter la partie suisse de l’enquête MOSAiCH avec leurs propres questions. Ceci permet aux chercheuses et chercheurs suisse de recueillir des données représentatives pour leurs projets de recherche et, en même temps, de les rendre accessibles à un large public scientifique.

A partir de 2018, FORS élargit cette prestation en offrant encore plus d’espace aux chercheuses et chercheurs pour leurs propres questions. Le rythme des appels à contributions devient annuel,  alors qu’il était de deux ans jusqu’à présent.

Les propositions soumises sont examinées par la Commission MOSAiCH puis compilées et adaptées par l’équipe des enquêtes internationales de FORS.

Les détails des critères et des conditions de soumission des questions peuvent être trouvés dans l’appel en cours (voir ci-dessous).

Commission scientifique

La Commission MOSAiCH est mandatée par le Conseil de fondation de FORS et a pour mission d’assurer la qualité de la partie suisse du projet MOSAiCH. La Commission scientifique garantit également la mise en réseau de MOSAiCH avec la communauté scientifique suisse et d’autres institutions de recherche en sciences sociales (mandat de la Commission MOSAiCH).

Membres :

  • Prof. Abdeljalil Akkari (Université de Genève)
  • Prof. Monica Budowski (Universität Freiburg)
  • Prof. Axel Franzen (Universität Bern)
  • Prof. Eva Green (Université de Lausanne)
  • Prof. Spartaco Greppi (SUPSI, Lugano)
  • Prof. Dominique Joye (FORS/Université de Lausanne)
  • Prof. Georg Lutz (FORS/Université de Lausanne)
  • Prof. Bart Meuleman (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Prof. Thomas Volken (Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften)

Responsables du projet :

Dr. Michèle Ernst Stähli et Dr. Marlène Sapin (FORS, Lausanne)

L’appel à contributions MOSAiCH-ISSP 2019 est fermé. Le prochain appel pour MOSAiCH 2020 en référence avec le module ISSP ‘Environment IV’ sera publié début 2019.

Les appels à contributions précédentes se trouvent ici:

MOSAiCH-ISSP in a nutshell

MOSAiCH “Measurement and Observation of Social Attitudes in Switzerland”

MOSAiCH is a cross-sectional survey that focuses on the Swiss population’s values and attitudes toward a wide range of social issues.

The respondents are drawn from a probabilistic sample representing the country’s population from the age of 18. While MOSAiCH was conducted every two years as a face-to-face interview until 2017, it will be carried out once a year from 2018 in the form of a self-administered survey (online/paper).

In terms of content, the survey is designed in order to enable comparisons both over time and across countries. The thematic focus lies on the current module of the International Social Survey Programme (ISSP). This international part is supplemented by selected socio-demographic questions, as well as a module composed of Switzerland specific questions. The questions of this Swiss part are determined by means of a public call and either expand the ISSP module thematically or measure other dimensions that are of special interest to Switzerland.

The MOSAiCH survey was founded in 2005; selected parts of the survey, however, have been administered in Switzerland for more than 20 years (see also: Survey modules of MOSAiCH and its predecessors since 1987).

Main aims:

  • The aim of the MOSAiCH survey is to generate internationally comparable data of very high quality that documents the Swiss population’s attitudes and opinions relating to a wide spectrum of social issues.
  • The purpose of the annual call for question contributions is to provide interested researchers with a valuable tool for the collection of representative data for their research projects. This data is also freely accessible to the wider scientific public.
Structure and funding

MOSAiCH is financed by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and directed by the FORS International Surveys team. Under the lead of Michèle Ernst Staehli, the International Surveys team has the following responsibilities:

  • Overall planning and organisation of the survey;
  • Development of the Swiss part of the questionnaire;
  • Translation of the latest ISSP-Module from English into three national languages (French, German and Italian);
  • Sample drawing for Switzerland;
  • Development of specific survey methods;
  • Cleaning, documentation and processing of the MOSAiCH data.

Coordination of the International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)

The ISSP is a cross-national collaboration programme that coordinates and conducts annual surveys on relevant social science topics. Established in 1984 by its founding members Australia, Germany, Great Britain and the US, the ISSP (www.issp.org) now counts more than 47 member countries. Since its foundation, over one million respondents from all around the globe have participated in ISSP surveys.

The ISSP is organised mainly by a rotating Secretariat, a Drafting group for modules that decides on the annual topics and a Methodology Committee that is responsible for quality specifications and assurance. The General Meeting – consisting of all the member states – develops the source questionnaire, appoints the members of the working groups and makes strategic decisions.

In the past years, Switzerland has been strongly involved in various ISSP working groups. At present in the role of convenor on the Methodology Committee and in several ISSP research groups (non-response, mixed-mode, translation, weighting, demographics). Additionally, Switzerland is a member of the Drafting Group that prepared the “Social Networks and Social Resources” module for the 2017 edition of the ISSP.

Methods
Sample:

The respondents are drawn from a probabilistic sample representing the countries’ population from the age of 18. A net sample size of at least 1,000 respondents is required. Since 2010, MOSAiCH is considered a survey of national importance to Switzerland, which means that a sample of individuals can be drawn randomly from the sampling register of the Swiss Federal Statistical Office, in accordance with Art. 13c, para. 2, lett. d, of the Ordinance on the Execution of Federal Statistical Surveys dated 30 June 1993.

Sample design:

Until 2009: Random sampling in three stages:

  • Sample of postal codes representing all regions of Switzerland
  • Selection of a specified number of households from each of the sampled postal codes
  • Random drawing of one person from each household

Since 2010: Random sampling in one stage:

  • In 2010, MOSAiCH was declared a survey of national importance and received funding by the Swiss National Science Foundation. As a result, a sample of individuals can be drawn randomly from the sampling register of the Swiss Federal Statistical Office, in accordance with Art. 13c, para. 2, lett. d of the Ordinance on the Execution of Federal Statistical Surveys dated 30 June 1993.

Data collection:

  • Annual cross-sectional survey with at least one follow-up interview for the respondents
  • Self-administered questionnaires (web/paper)
  • Target net sample size for the follow-up interviews: 1000 respondents

In order to enhance the quality of the data, the methodical procedure is constantly adapted and improved. Among other things, these measures include a rigorous translation procedure for the questionnaire (TRAPD), optimised random sampling and extensive measures to increase the response rate.

Topics / editions

From 2018, the MOSAiCH questionnaire will basically consist of two parts: a main survey with the current module of the International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) including selected socio-demographic questions, on the one hand, and one or two follow-up surveys with Switzerland-specific questions on the other.

Main survey:

The ISSP-module
Every year, the international ISSP Drafting Group proposes a survey module on a specific topic. Since the goal is to make results internationally comparable, the questionnaire is designed so that it can be applied in a very diverse range of countries and cultures. The ISSP topics are periodically repeated, with most of the questions remaining unchanged from round to round. This enables the observation of change over time (see Summary table of survey modules).

In each round of the survey, general information about the person, such as age, gender, marital status or employment, is collected. This section varies in each edition, depending on the topic of the ISSP module of the corresponding year.

Follow-up survey(s):

The Swiss module
In each edition of MOSAiCH, the ISSP module is complemented by one or two follow-up surveys. These additional questions are only administered in Switzerland and either expand the ISSP module thematically or add aspects that are of particular interest to Switzerland.

FORS offers interested researchers the opportunity to implement their own questions or question modules in this Swiss section (since 2012 by means of an open call on the FORS website, see MOSAiCH call). The submitted proposals are reviewed by the MOSAiCH Commission and then compiled and adapted by the FORS International Surveys team.

The MOSAiCH collaborations document provides a summary of the external collaborations to date.

Switzerland-Europe: Eurobarometer (EB) and Eurobarometer in Switzerland (EBCH)
From 1999 to 2003, Switzerland conducted selected modules of the European Commission’s Eurobarometer Survey (in the first year as an independent survey, from 2000 to 2003 in combination with the ISSP). The modules of this Europe-wide survey were complemented by additional questions that focus primarily on the Swiss population’s attitudes and opinions towards national institutions and the European Union. These additional questions are gathered primarily in the modules EBCH – Swiss politics and EBCH – Relationship EU-CH.

While the Eurobarometer (EB) was discontinued in Switzerland in 2003, a considerable number of the EBCH questions has been incorporated into the MOSAiCH project (2005-2017). The document Vue d’ensemble des questions de l’Eurobaromètre en Suisse provides an overview of the repeated questions coming from EBCH as well as other sociodemographic and attitudinal questions of general interest and their implementation in different survey projects from 1999 until now.

From 2018, the EBCH questions will only be included in the MOSAiCH survey on a selective basis, depending on the specific subject of the ISSP module.

Editions

 ISSPEB/EBCHSwiss Module
2020 - MOSAiCHEnvironment IV (2020)Additional questions to ISSP 2020 and from the MOSAiCH call
2019 - MOSAiCHSocial Inequality V (2019)Additional questions to ISSP 2019 and from the MOSAiCH call
2018 - MOSAiCHReligion IV (2018)Additional questions to ISSP 2018 and from the MOSAiCH call
2017 - MOSAiCHRole of Government V (2016)

Social Networks and Social Resources (2017)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Additional questions to ISSP 2016 and ISSP 2017

Drop-off (MOSAiCH 2017)
2015 - MOSAiCHCitizenship II (2014)

Work Orientations IV (2015)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Additional questions to ISSP 2014 and ISSP 2015

Drop-off (MOSAiCH 2015)
2013 - MOSAiCHFamily and Changing Gender Roles IV (2012)

National Identity III (2013)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Additional questions to ISSP 2012 et ISSP 2013

Family Relations (Drop off)
2011 - MOSAiCHEnvironment III (2010)

Health (2011)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Noise Pollution

Time Orientation
2009 - MOSAiCHReligion III (2008)

Social Inequality IV (2009)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Religion

Professional Position

Survey Climate
2007 - MOSAiCHRole of Government IV (2006)

Leisure Time and Sports (2007)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Image of Professions

Satisfaction with Economy

Media
2005 - MOSAiCHCitizenship (2004)

Work Orientations III (2005)
EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
Social Networks
2003 - Eurobarometer / ISSPNational Identity II (2003)Family and Couples (EB 59.0)

EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
2002 - Eurobarometer / ISSPFamily and Changing Gender Roles III (2002)Biotechnology and genetic Engineering (EB 58.0)

EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
2001 - Eurobarometer / ISSPSocial Relations and Support Systems (2001)Science and Technology (EB 55.2)

EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
2000 - Eurobarometer / ISSPEnvironment II (2000)Attitudes toward people from other cultures (EB 53.0)

New communication technologies (EB 53.0)

Genetically modified Organisms (EB 53.0)

EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
1999 - EurobarometerEnvironment (EB 51)

EBCH: Swiss Politics

EBCH: Relationship EU-CH
1999 - FNRSSocial Inequality III (1999)Social Inequality
1998 - FNRSReligion II (1998)Religion and Religious Communities: Construction and Regulation of Religious Mobilisation
1997 - FNRSRole of Government III (1996)

Work Orientations II (1997)
Conditions and Meaning of Work

Participation at Work
1994 - FNRSEnvironment I (1993)Awareness and behavior toward the Environment
1987 - FNRSSocial Inequality I (1987)Social Inequality

Note: Roman numerals indicate the repetition of the module within the ISSP.

Data

After completion of the fieldwork , FORS reviews and verifies the MOSAiCH data and process it, so it can be integrated into the data archive on the FORS NESSTAR server. The anonymised MOSAiCH datasets are freely available to researchers and other interested parties following registration and agreement to the conditions of data use. The documentation of the variables is available in French or German.

NESSTAR, however, provides only a limited MOSAiCH dataset. The comprehensive dataset is available on the FORSbase data catalogue. The ISSP data is also stored at the Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences (GESIS). There, you can also find the datasets of the other participating countries.

Researchers are requested to respect the conditions of data use, in particular the requirement for proper citation in articles or other forms of publications (Citations). All publications that reference the MOSAiCH data must be communicated to the FORS International Surveys team.

Important/useful links:

MOSAiCH call

Since 2012, FORS offers interested researchers the opportunity to contribute questions or question modules to the Swiss part of MOSAiCH by means of an open call. Researchers in the social sciences are thus given the opportunity to collect representative data on their own research projects without incurring any costs.

From 2018, FORS will continue to expand this service by providing researchers with more space for their own questions and by increasing the tendering frequency. The call for question contributions will be held annually instead of every two years.

The submitted proposals are examined by the MOSAiCH Commission and then compiled and adapted by the FORS International Surveys team.

Details of the criteria and conditions for submitting question or question modules can be found in the current call (see below).

Scientific Commission

The MOSAiCH Scientific Commission guarantees the strong embedding of MOSAiCH within the Swiss research community and authorities involved in research in the social sciences. The Commission is mandated by the FORS Foundation Board. According to its mandate, the Commission’s purpose is to guarantee the quality of the Swiss part of the research project and to strengthen the research network in the social sciences at Swiss universities and concerned authorities.

Members:

  • Prof. Abdeljalil Akkari (Université de Genève)
  • Prof. Monica Budowski (Universität Freiburg)
  • Prof. Axel Franzen (Universität Bern)
  • Prof. Eva Green (Université de Lausanne)
  • Prof. Spartaco Greppi (SUPSI, Lugano)
  • Prof. Dominique Joye (FORS/Université de Lausanne)
  • Prof. Georg Lutz (FORS/Université de Lausanne)
  • Prof. Bart Meuleman (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Prof. Thomas Volken (Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften)

Project Directors:

Dr. Michèle Ernst Stähli and Dr. Marlène Sapin (FORS, Lausanne)

The 2019 MOSAiCH-ISSP call is closed. The next call for the 2020 MOSAiCH relating to the ISSP module ‘Environment IV’ will be published early 2019.