Skip to navigation Skip to the content

International surveys

Participation in international surveys is an important aspect of social science research. Indeed, it is essential to be able to situate Switzerland in relation to other countries, as well as to allow researchers to participate in scientific dialogue at an international level. As such, FORS was charged with the responsibility of conducting international surveys in Switzerland. Four projects conducted by FORS currently offer measurement tools that provide comparative perspectives.

European Social Survey

The European Social Survey (ESS) has been conducted every two years since 2001, in Switzerland as well as in 30 European countries. This survey is composed of a repeating stable core of questions. Thematic modules of questions take place around this core. One goal of the project is to attain excellence in methodology, as much from the viewpoint of population representation as of national comparability. Thus, emphasis is placed on sampling precision and translation quality. A representative sample of 1,500 individuals allows measurement and comparison of the longterm evolution of values, attitudes, and practices of the population. The results are freely available.

MOSAiCH-ISSP

The survey MOSAiCH-ISSP is a project at the heart of which is the International Social Survey Program (ISSP). Initiated over 20 years ago, the ISSP is conducted in over 40 countries in the world. Each edition of the ISSP covers a specific theme, which is taken up at regular intervals. In Switzerland, until 1999, a module of questions from the ISSP was inserted into preexisting research projects. From 2000 to 2003, the ISSP was linked to the Eurobarometer, a survey covering politics and living conditions in the European Union and in Switzerland. When the Eurobarometer was discontinued in 2005, it was the project MOSAiCH that adopted the ISSP every two years. There are therefore at each edition two ISSP modules, one module of demographic questions, and a second recommended by the Swiss research team that is responsible for the MOSAiCH survey.

SHARE

The Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE), initiated in 2002, is the first multidisciplinary survey in Europe on the health, retirement, and financial conditions of people over 50. Inspired by similar surveys conducted in the United States (HRS, Health and Retirement Survey) and in Great Britain (ELSA, English Longitudinal Study of Ageing), SHARE covers various themes like health, the use of healthcare, work, family ties, consumption, housing, and revenue and savings. In short, SHARE paints an emerging portrait of an aging Europe and fills an important gap in the available databases in Europe on older people.

European Values Study

FORS also conducts the European Values Survey (EVS). This European survey on values is realized every nine years. Switzerland, which had participated in 1990, conducted the survey again in 2008 under the direction of FORS. The data of this most recent administration is freely available to the public since 2010.

Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS)

At an international level, the Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects) are part of two major international comparative projects. The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) is an international network of national election studies. The CSES is composed of three tightly linked parts: First, a common module of public opinion survey questions is included in each participant country’s post-election study. These “micro” level data include vote choice, candidate and party evaluations, current and retrospective economic evaluations, evaluation of the electoral system itself, in addition to standardized sociodemographic measures. Second, district level data are reported for each respondent, including electoral returns, turnout, and the number of candidates. Finally, system or “macro” level data report aggregate electoral returns, electoral rules and formulas, and regime characteristics. This design allows researchers to conduct cross-level, as well as cross-national analyses, addressing the effects of electoral institutions on citizens’ attitudes and behavior, the presence and nature of social and political cleavages, and the evaluation of democratic institutions across different political regimes. The third round of the CSES module has been integrated in Selects 2007 questionnaire and Selects has also participated in the two previous rounds.

Selects is also part of the newly established network Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS) which conducts surveys among all candidates for national elections in participating countries. The CCS is an internationally coordinated effort. It combines an internationally agreed and locally adapted core questionnaire with questions that try to capture national and election specifics. The core candidate questionnaire specifically focuses at the issue of individualization of electoral campaigns, i.e. the empirical question to which extent the candidates run their own campaigns distinct from those of their parties. Switzerland has conducted this additional survey for the first time in 2007 in collaboration with smartvote.

Skip to navigation Skip to the content

Internationale Surveys

Für die sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung stellt die Beteiligung an internationalen Umfragen ein wichtiges Element dar. Sie erlaubt es, die Schweiz in Bezug auf andere Länder einzuordnen und den Forschenden die Möglichkeit zu geben, sich an internationalen wissenschaftlichen Debatten zu beteiligen. Aus diesen Gründen wurde FORS das Mandat erteilt, ausgewählte internationale Befragungen in der Schweiz einzuführen. FORS realisiert fünf solcher Projekte, welche allesamt Messinstrumente für vergleichende Analysen bieten:

European Social Survey

Das European Social Survey (ESS) Programm wird seit 2002 im Zweijahresrhythmus in der Schweiz sowie in über 20 europäischen Ländern durchgeführt. Diese europaweite Studie besteht aus einem Basis-Fragebogen zu politischen und gesellschaftlichen Fragen, die in jeder Befragung gestellt werden. Dieser standardisierte Fragebogen wird ausserdem durch länderspezifische Fragen sowie wechselnde Schwerpunktthemen ergänzt. Ziel des langfristig angelegten Projektes ist es, hochwertige Daten in Bezug auf die Repräsentativität sowie die Vergleichbarkeit zwischen den beteiligten Ländern zu produzieren. Deshalb werden für die Stichprobenbildung sowie für die Fragebogenübersetzung besondere Verfahren eingesetzt. Aufgrund der repräsentativen Stichprobe von 1500 Personen ist es möglich, die Entwicklung von Einstellungen, Überzeugungen und Verhaltensmustern der Bevölkerung im Längsschnitt zu beschreiben und zu vergleichen.

MOSAiCH-ISSP

Die MOSAiCH-ISSP Befragung stellt den schweizerischen Teil des International Social Survey Program (ISSP) dar. Das ISSP wird seit über 20 Jahren in mehr als vierzig Ländern weltweit durchgeführt. Jede Auflage des ISSP deckt ein spezifisches Thema ab, welches in regelmässigen Intervallen wieder aufgegriffen wird. In der Schweiz wurden ISSP-Module bis 1999 punktuell in andere bereits existierende Forschungsprojekte integriert. Von 2000 bis 2003 war das ISSP an die Eurobarometer-Studie angegliedert, welche sich mit Politik und den Lebensbedingungen in der Europäischen Union und in der Schweiz beschäftigt. Seit 2005 wird die ISSP-Erhebung in der Schweiz nun alle zwei Jahre im Rahmen der MOSAiCH-Studie durchgeführt. Pro Erhebung werden zwei ISSP-Module, ein Modul mit demographischen Fragen und ein weiterer Fragenkomplex zu schweiz-spezifischen Themen integriert, welcher vom MOSAiCH-Team entwickelt wird.

SHARE

Die Studie SHARE (Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe), die in 2002 begonnen hat, ist das erste multidisziplinäre Umfrageprojekt über die wirtschaftliche, gesundheitliche und soziale Lage älterer Menschen in Europa. SHARE wurde durch ähnliche Studien in den Vereinigten Staaten (HRS, Health and Retirement Survey) und Grossbritannien (ELSA, English Longitudinal Study of Ageing) angeregt und handelt von vielfältigen Themen wie Gesundheit, Konsum von Pflegeleistungen, Arbeit, verwandtschaftliche Beziehungen, Konsum, Wohnung, Einkommen und Sparen. Kurz gesagt, SHARE beschreibt ein älter werdendes Europa und füllt eine wichtige Datenlücke über ältere Menschen in Europa aus.

European Values Study

FORS führt auch die European Values Study (EVS) durch. Diese europäische Umfrage, welche sich mit Werten beschäftigt, wird alle 9 Jahre durchgeführt. Die Schweiz hatte sich im Jahr 1990 beteiligt und war 2008 wieder unter der Leitung von FORS eingestiegen. Die Daten dieser Erhebungswelle stehen der Öffentlichkeit seit 2010 zur Verfügung.

 

Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS)

Die Swiss Electoral Studies (Selects) sind Teil von zwei bedeutenden internationalen Vergleichsstudien. Die Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) ist ein internationales Netzwerk von nationalen Wählerstudien. Die CSES besteht aus drei eng miteinander verknüpften Teilen: Ein allgemeines Modul mit Fragen zur öffentlichen Meinung ist in der Nachwahlbefragung in jedem Teilnehmerland enthalten. Diese Mikrodaten beinhalten neben standardisierten soziodemographischen Massen den Wahlentscheid, die Kandidaten- und Parteienevaluation, gegenwärtige und retrospektive ökonomische Evaluationen sowie die Evaluation des Wahlsystems an sich. Ein zweiter Teil besteht aus Wahlkreisebene-Daten, die für jeden Teilnehmer erhoben werden, inklusive Wahlbeteiligung, Wahlausgang, und die Anzahl Kandidaten. Das dritte Set von Daten beinhaltet Makrolevel Daten und gibt Auskunft über Aggregat-Wahlbeteiligungen, Wahlsysteme, sowie Regierungscharakteristiken. Dieses Design ermöglicht es, sowohl cross-level wie auch cross-nationale Analysen durchzuführen, indem es die Auswirkungen von Wahlsystemen auf die Einstellungen und Verhalten der Stimmbürger, das Vorkommen und die Eigenschaften von sozialen und politischen Spaltungen, sowie die Evaluation von demokratischen Institutionen über unterschiedliche politische Regierungen hinweg untersucht. Die dritte Runde des CSES Moduls wurde in den Fragebogen von Selects 2007 integriert und Selects war an den beiden vorherigen Runden ebenfalls beteiligt.

Selects ist ausserdem am neu geschaffenen Netzwerk Comparative Candidate Survey (CCS) beteiligt, welches Umfragen unter sämtlichen Kandidaten der nationalen Wahlen in den teilnehmenden Ländern durchführt. Die CCS ist eine international koordinierte Studie. Sie kombiniert einen international vereinbarten und lokal angepassten Kernfragebogen mit Fragen, welche die nationalen und wahlspezifischen Eigenschaften zu erfassen versuchen. Der Kernfragebogen fokussiert vorallem auf die Thematik der Individualisierung der Wahlkampagnen, z.B. auf die empirische Frage, in welchem Ausmass die Kandidaten eine der angehörenden Partei abweichende Kampagne führen. Die Schweiz hat diese zusätzliche Umfrage 2007 das erste Mal und in Zusammenarbeit mit Smartvote durchgeführt.